Treat Your Life Like A Cocktail

Every cocktail you make as a bartender needs balance, but so does your life.  We put so much time, focus, energy and precision into what we do, that sometimes we forget to put the same energy into our lives away from the bar.

Bartending is great, don’t get me wrong, it’s something I’m passionate about.  I look at this not as a job, but as a career because I love what I do and I love the people I’ve met and worked with (both past and present).  I consider myself extremely lucky to be where I am at today.  I work in a great bar, have an amazing staff and I’ve been fortunate enough to travel around the world.  The one big thing that I never took into consideration though, was how to balance my personal life with my work life.

I have foolishly thought that I never worked that much or put in enough hours in the office.  I would push back deadlines in my personal life to accomplish things at work.  I was living to work and not working to live (as the old saying goes) and destroyed loving relationships and long friendships.  Basically, I focused so much on being successful at work that I wasn’t able to see my real life falling apart.

Now I’m sure most everyone in our industry is always busy; busy writing schedules, taking inventory, performing training’s, sitting in meeting’s and working behind the bar.  From what I have taken away the past year and a half is that you need to budget your time and your life like you do your checkbook (something I’ll get into another time).  What I have personally found is that getting a daily routine down has helped to balance things out.  Go to the gym, do yoga, read the paper, go on a walk with a loved one, just please for the love of God, don’t check your work email while barely awake in bed (better yet, take it off your phone).

I know I’m not the first person to talk about balancing work and life out, but I think it’s always something we as bartenders should always consider.  Just as physical health should always be important, mental health shouldn’t be thrown by the wayside.  Take some time, sit down and really think about what your doing.  Do you enjoy your time at work?  Are you able to shut off when your shift is over?  Make sure you can answer those two questions and be honest with yourself.  Love what you do at and away from the bar and love your life.

~ by myamericandram on November 18, 2015.

One Response to “Treat Your Life Like A Cocktail”

  1. Well said, a well balanced lifestyle is key! Everything in moderation 😉 thanks for sharing your thought on this hectic industry work… Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
