Fish Bowl Punch with a side of Fish!

It’s been quite awhile since I was actually able to sit and relax at home and cook a nice dinner.  I decided to look through my Che Panisse cookbook and found some good recipes.  There was a really nice recipe on eggplant and red pepper soup, rockfish with thyme and grilled leeks.  I went for it…..

It’s kind of nice having zero time restrictions on cooking and when the meal needs to be ready.  I just opened a few Dogfish IPA’s and slowly did my thing.  Marinated the fish and tossed it in the fridge for a few hours, prepped my soup ingredients and pre-boiled my leeks and set everything aside.  When I felt like eating, this is what it all started to look like:

These were the leeks; boiled and then slit almost in half, filled with olive oil, salt and pepper.

The finished product:  Eggplant and Onion soup with garlic, topped with red pepper creme fraishe, grilled leeks with mustard butter and grilled rockfish with thyme, garlic and olive oil garnished with a red onion and tomato relish!

Now I figure me being a bartender and all, cooking for a few people, it’s not always fun to have a bottle of wine with dinner.  I went with some punch!  I got this recipe and modified it a bit.  It came out of a 1941 book called Here’s How!  It’s a book I have been wanting for some time.  My grandfather was a liquor salesmen back in the 40’s and 50’s and he passed away about 5-6 years ago now.  My dad just found this book and gave it to me on Father’s Day.  I was sincerely touched by this, because the book was in perfect condition, but I have something from my grandfather and my dad supports me in my career so much.

Enough with the sappy stuff.  The punch consisted of X.O. Cognac, Apricot Brandy, Jamaican Rum, Lemon Juice, sugar, Water and a few ounces of Laphroaig Scotch to give it that smokey flavor.  To keep it cool, I took a large ziplock container and filled it with chamomile tea and fruit.  I added lemons, limes, peaches and oranges and let it all freeze.  That way I get minimal dilution, but my punch stays nice and cold!  I just mixed it all together and served!  It was extremely tasty and was easy to serve.  It’s kind of nice not having to shake or stir cocktails all night while your food gets cold.  I got to eat a tasty hot meal and enjoy an ice cold libation and relax!  Cheers all!

The 4 different styles of liquor I used in the Punch

Pure deliciousness!  Who knew that drinks from the 1890’s are this tasty 100 years later?!

~ by myamericandram on June 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
