Saturday Fun with Savoy Cocktails!

So yesterday at work was extremely boring and slow.  Thank God I usually keep an old cocktail book in my backpack to make some different recipes.  These next few are from the Savoy Cocktail book and turned out to be quite tasty!

Apple Pie Cocktail

1.5 oz Cruzan Light Rum (Bacardi Rum is in the original recipe)

1.5 oz Martini & Rossi Sweet Vermouth (Original recipe calls for “Italian Vermouth”)

.5 oz Apricot Brandy

.25 oz Grenadine (I had to use to really sweet stuff, I didn’t have home-made stuff on hand)

.25 oz Lemon Juice

I added all the ingredients to a pint glass and shook the hell out of it.  I double strained it into a Martini glass and sipped on it.

This cocktail definitely does not taste anything like Apple or pie for that matter.  You really pick up a lot of the Italian Vermouth, but that’s what you’re going to get when it’s half Rum and half Vermouth.  I really liked it, but I love Manhattan’s and any type of Vermouth based cocktail.

Approve Cocktail

1.5 oz Crown Royal (Original calls for Rye or Canadian Club)

2 Dashes Angostura Bitters

.5 oz Curacao (Original calls for 2 dashes of it)

Add all ingredients and stir.  Then strain into a glass and squeeze a slice of orange and lemon over the top and enjoy.

This cocktail is related to a bunch of other cocktails really.  If made with Rye, it’s almost a Sazerac (no sugar cube, just Curacao instead and the bitters were changed obviously).  And it can also be considered a Whiskey Cocktail, but who really cares!  It’s delicious and as always, fun to make and drink!

Atty Cocktail

1.5 oz Bombay Gin

.5 oz Martini and Rossi Dry Vermouth

.25 oz Parfait Amor (Original calls for Creme De Violette)

.25 oz St. George Absinthe (I ended up flaming the glass with the Absinthe and smoking it)

After I added the Absinthe to the glass, I lit it on fire (St. George Absinthe is 120 proof).  I let it coat the glass before putting out the flame and then set the glass aside.  I added all the ingredients to a pint glass and stirred the concoction.  After it was diluted down a bit, I strained it back into the Absinthe smoked glass and added a long peel of lemon and squeezed the oils into the glass.

Out of the three cocktails I was able to make yesterday, this was by far my favorite as well as the rest of the serving staffs.  You definitely pick up the dry vermouth and its flavors on the first sip, but the way everything else interacted, it tasted like an Almond cookie to me.  Very weird, but it really does taste like that.  The Parfait Amor, Absinthe and Vermouth compliment each other in such a fantastic way.  It’s honestly something I never would have thought to put together.

~ by myamericandram on May 22, 2011.

One Response to “Saturday Fun with Savoy Cocktails!”

  1. Nice, always glad to see anyone experimenting with Savoy Coctkails! The ATTY is one of my favorites, too, but I’ve not tried it yet with Parfait Amour. Will go on the todo list. Best!

Leave a Reply

 
