The Savoy: Round 2!

So I’ve finally been able to work on some more Savoy recipes since I recently came upon the ingredients, courtesy of my brother.

Albertine Cocktail:

1 oz Kirschwasser

1 oz Cointreau

1 oz Yellow Chartreuse

Not really a fan of this one, but I had to give it a go.  Could definitely be worse, but I’m not really able to grasp how these flavors could all work together in harmony.  To me it seems like there it just way too much going on with these flavors.

Alexander Cocktail:

2 oz Dry Gin

1 oz Creme de Cocao

1 oz Sweet Cream

Sweet, chewy, like a pastry in a glass. Simple yet elegant.

Alexander’s Sister Cocktail:

1 oz Gin

1 oz Cream

1 oz Creme de Menthe

What can I say…..anyone ever had one of those Andes chocolates with the mint strip on the inside?  I used Thatcher’s organic chocolate liquor made from real dark cocoa.  It smells amazing and you could literally drink it like water if you wanted to…..although I don’t recommend it!

American Beauty Cocktail:

3/4 oz Brandy

3/4 oz Dry Vermouth

3/4 oz Orange Juice

3/4 oz Grenadine

Dash of Creme de Menthe

Shake up the Cocktail and then float some port on top.  I actually used some Smith Woodhouse 95 on it and it turned out nicely

 

This cocktail really runs the gambit on your palate.  It can run absolutely everywhere.  The Creme de Menthe hits your taste buds first, so I thought it was going to be a somewhat vegetal taste and die off.  Then the gin starts to pull through and dries up a little bit.  Before your tongue gets too tired from tasting, the orange juice attacks and lets the grenadine flow on over your palate and coat it with sweetness before the ruby port deals the final blow.

Angel Face Cocktail:

1 oz Gin

1 oz Apricot Brandy

1 oz Calvados

A pretty potent cocktail and started off a little bit dry, but finishes with a warm, dried fruit finish.  The Calvados is quite refreshing on the palate and next time I may try an even milder gin like Hendrick’s.

Angel’s Wing Cocktail:

3/4 oz Raspberry Syrup (I used Pineapple)

3/4 oz Creme de Violette (I used Parfait Amor)

3/4 oz Maraschino

We ran out of Raspberry syrup on this one, so I tried pineapple in it…..maybe not so good.  I’m going to try again and maybe make some larger layers.  I always thought Pousse Cafe style drinks were going to be lame, but they’re actually gorgeous when they’re staring right back at you.  I’ll have to keep trying to balance more and more layers of flavor in the future.

~ by myamericandram on March 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
