Oh Sherry!

So one of my new loves to mix with is Sherry.  There are several types, but I prefer Oloroso or Amontillado sherry.  I will definitely say my inspiration for this new found love of mine has been David Wondrich’s book “Imbibe!”.  He reprints a lot of classic cocktails by Jerry Thomas and sherry is used quite often.

One of the classics was and is the Sherry Cobbler.  It was traditionally a cocktail consisting of Sherry, crushed ice, sugar and fresh fruit.  I’ve decided to roll with the same lines of flavors except add a few new ingredients to twist it up.  One of the cocktails I served up consisted of Oloroso Sherry, Velvet Falernum, fresh squeezed lemon juice and an egg white.  Suprisingly it came out very nicely!

I have yet to really think up a name for it, but I will one of these days.

I have also been trying to expand my knowledge on beers, especially craft beers.  My new favorites are from Russian River Brewing Company and Hitachino from Japan.  The Japanese brewery ages some of their beers in Shochu casks, or with fresh ginger and even makes a beer from red rice!

The past few nights I have been drinking these;

From left to right you have Temptation, Consecration, Damnation and Redemption.  They’re all pretty potent beers ranging from 7.5% to 10.5% alcohol.  The Temptation is exceptionally good.  It’s aged in old Chardonnay casks with a yeast called “Brett”…haha!  It’s slighly sour, but suprisingly smooth and mellow.  My other favorite was the Consecration.  It’s aged in Cabernet Sauvignon barrels with currants added into it.  It’s rich, fruity and you can definitely task oak in there.  The Damnation and Redemption are both Golden Ales and Blonde Ales.  Both are light, crisp and have some nutty flavor as well.  I highly recommend all these beers to anyone.  They’re all fermented in the bottle with different types of yeast added to them and give them each a unique flavor profile.

That’s it for now, hopefully I’ll be back with some new stuff soon and will learn how to move some of these posts around…..this is still all uncharted territory for me!  Cheers!

~ by myamericandram on January 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
