Winter time fun!

So lately I’ve been working on some new cocktails for the late winter/early spring menu release at Chow.  I experimented with all kinds of new fruits that I had never seen before and played around with some spices and herbs too.  Personally I would like to revamp the entire cocktail menu, but that won’t happen anytime soon. Instead there will be 3 or 4 new libations decorating the menu for your consuming pleasure.  I’ll keep coming up with some new tinctures too.  These are my new favorites to make, especially since I got all my dropper bottles in!  A few more days and my cinnamon tincture will be done, cardamon is coming along nicely and there’s a few more tricks up my sleeves.  This is all new territory for me, but I figure you have got to learn to walk before you can run….or at least that’s how the saying goes.

A few of the new cocktails that will be on the list contain kumquats and sage with honey syrup, another one has some Jerry Thomas decanter bitters (my new favorite) with homemade clementine syrup, and lastly a cocktail with some white rum, lavender bitters and demerara sugar!  I love demerara now, huge sugar grains with rich flavor.  It pairs really nicely with the lavender.

One of the new cocktails

Some of the fruits that I have been toying with come from all over the world.  They’re not exactly in season right now, but they still make some pretty interesting cocktails and can definitely challenge your palate……something i’m always happy to work on.

Inside of the dragonfruit

The tasty results

Oddly enough the drink turned out really well.  I wasn’t too sure what to mix with it so i just played around with some gin and rum for awhile.  Lemon juice and blood orange juice also paired really nicely.  The pinkish red hue from this cocktail comes from half of an ounce of blood orange juice and some of the golden amber color from the honey syrup.  I made the honey syrup in a 1:1 ration of honey to water.  Obviously if you want to make anything sweeter, use less water.

Also known as Kiwano

This is the horned melon I used.  I got this as well as some of the other fruit I’ve been using from Berkeley Bowl.  I had never seen this kind of fruit before so I figure i’d see what I could do.  I had honestly never tasted anything like this before.  It had a banana like finish to it with a lot of grassy, vegetal flavor.  It is kind of gooey and squishy like jello with the pods inside too.  I made a pretty tasty tipple with it out of white rum, lime juice, turbinado sugar and about 3 ounces of puree.  I would really recommending pureeing the fruit instead of muddling it.

So the last cocktail I made didn’t have any type of special or crazy fruit in it  I had bought a bottle of Velvet Falernum from Ledger’s in Berkeley and wanted to experiment with it.  It’s really light flavored, thick body profile and a nice spice scent.  I decided to use Gosling’s rum, velvet falernum and some chocolate bitters in this drink.  The taste…..freaking bananas!!!…..No seriously it tasted like a dried banana.  It reminded me of when I was a kid and I would snack on banana chips, which would be a really cool garnish.  So i’m thinking of buying a dehydrator to make my own chips to either float (since they will) or hang on the rim of the glass.

Thanks for rolling by and checking out the blog again everyone.  Hopefully next time I will have some more tinctures completed and some new pictures as well.  I’m going to attempt to make some foams to garnish cocktails with too this week if time allows for it, courtesy of course from all the contributors to Left Coast Libations.  It’s an awesome book!  Take care.

~ by myamericandram on January 15, 2011.

2 Responses to “Winter time fun!”

  1. Brian, I really want to try your new drinks. They look amazing.

  2. I want the dragonfruit one!!

Leave a Reply

 
